Understanding the Framework for Design Excellence


The AIA Framework for Design Excellence represents the defining principles of design excellence in the 21st century. Comprised of 10 principles and accompanied by searching questions, the framework informs progress toward a zero-carbon, healthy, just, resilient, and equitable built environment. The framework challenges architects with a vision of what the profession strives to achieve. The framework’s ten principles are relevant for every architect, every client, and every project, regardless of size, typology, or aspiration.

The 10 principles are Design for Integration, Design for Equitable Communities, Design for Ecosystems, Design for Water, Design for Economy, Design for Energy, Design for Well-Being, Design for Resources, Design for Change, and Design for Discovery.

This session will focus on a few local projects and how they fit within the framework. Note, there will be small group discussions in breakout rooms.

Sponsored by the AIA Columbus Committee on the Environment (COTE).

July 11, 2024
12-1 PM

Earn 1.0 LU|HSW

AIA Members, Allied Members, and Sponsors: $10
Associate Members and Students: $5
Non-Members: $20

Register here.

Title Sponsors




Scroll to Top