AIA Columbus Design Awards – CALL FOR ENTRIES


 2013 AIA Columbus Design Awards – CALL FOR ENTRIES!

The AIA Columbus Chapter’s annual Design Awards Program recognizes excellence in architectural design by Columbus architects and those within the boundaries of the AIA Columbus Chapter. The program’s purpose is to recognize the achievements for a broad range of architectural activity in order to elevate the general quality of architectural practice, establish a standard of excellence against which all architects can measure performance, inform the public of the breadth and value of architectural practice, and to honor the architects, clients and consultants who work together to improve the built environment. 

To achieve these goals, the AIA Columbus Design Awards program has two divisions:

Architecture Awards
Architecture Awards is an all inclusive category, and recognizes design excellence for completed architecture executed in all scales, of all types of buildings, interiors, restoration, preservation and adaptive re-use. An Architecture Award entry may be any building or complex of buildings, constructed anywhere in the world, and substantially complete NOT before January 1, 2008. 

Project Awards
Project Awards recognize design excellence in projects scheduled to be built, as well as those that will never be built. Submissions may be commissioned or self-generated, research or speculation. Competition entries, speculative research, etc. are all viable submissions. 

Submission Instructions
You must submit an Intent to Enter form for each project before receiving instructions on how to submit your project. The Intent to Enter form can be found on the last page of this document. This form is due to the Chapter office either by mail, email, or in person by no later than 5:00 PM on Friday, August 23, 2013. Final submission instructions will be sent to all participants after the form is received.




 This year’s Head Juror is Sebastian Schmaling, of Johnsen Schmaling Architects

2012 Design Award Winners
2011 Design Award Winners
2010 Design Award Winners
2009 Design Award Winners 

Title Sponsors




Scroll to Top